Points By Drew Pritt


A Loss So Great
September 6, 2007, 3:18 pm
Filed under: Culture

This morning, I will be so saddened, because one of the voices of an angel has been silenced by mortality.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDtcidMR_6I 

There are singers and then there are some with voices that speak to our soul. Luciano Pavarotti was one of them. His singing, whether of O Sole’ Mio, Ave Maria, or my favorite, Nessun Dorma, will always be a sound that I will carry with me in my heart. The soul is nurtured when it hears music. Its like water and sunlight to a flower. It grows an individual. In the silence of the night, in the midst of illness, or the quiet moments of happiness, there is music that erupts from ones hearts and in the internal memory banks bursts forth. There are songs when we as humans hear them we are endowed with memories and we can relive these moments.

For me, I was always very close to my maternal Grandmother. Tragically on Christmas Eve of 1999 I had to let go of her mortally here on earth as she passed away. But one of my last memories of her is sitting on a couch, during one of the AETN Fund Drives, and watching the Three Tenors on Public Television. Jose Carreras and Placido Domingo were wonderful, but Pavarotti stole the show, and was my grandmother’s favorite. As Pavarotti began to sing his part of Nessun Dorma, I saw my grandmother lean forward, her eyes transfixed on the screen as the melodic sounds came forth. As Pavarotti got to the dramatic conclusion of such a simple and short song and hit the high soaring notes, I saw tears in my grandmother’s eyes. I don’t know her memories that she remembered, but in the moment she is forever framed in my memory.

Now he will sing for God and for her eternally and for us on earth well we have the memories.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDtcidMR_6I

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

