Points By Drew Pritt


Look Away – Kate Campbell
September 18, 2007, 6:17 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Recently, Little Rock, 50 yrs. after Central High is rocked by those who use race as a weapon. As I sit here a few hours before the polls open, I am listening to Kate Campbell, and a song called Look Away. I think its fair to read the lyrics and hear it and ponder that there are so many still trying to recover from a war that officially ended in 1865 but still has not ended for us in this nation.

http://www.projectplaylist.com/playlist/additem/695346

Look Away

I can still recall the night
Lightning burned the mansion down
We all stood in out pajamas
On that hallowed southern ground
When the flames had turned to ashes
Only blackened bricks remained
And sixteen stately Doric columns
There beneath a veil of gray

And it’s a long and slow surrender
Retreating from the past
It’s important to remember
To fly the flag half-mast
And look away

I was taught by elders wiser
Love your neighbor, love your God
Never saw a cross on fire
Never saw an angry mob
I saw sweet magnolia blossoms
I chased lightening bugs at night
Never dreaming others saw our way of life
In black and white

Part of me hears voices crying
Part of me can feel their weight
Part of me believes that mansion
Stood for something more than hate

Kate Campbell / Walt Aldridge
© 1995 Fame Publishing Company Inc. (BMI)
Rick Hall Music Inc. / Watertown Music (ASCAP)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

