Points By Drew Pritt


Cynthia McKinney Names Running-Mate
July 10, 2008, 8:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

 

In a sign that defeated former U.S. Congresswoman Cynthia McKinney (Georgia) may see her drive for the Green Party nomination falter at the finish line, McKinney named Hip Hop artist Rosa Clemente as her running mate.

Clemete is a Bronx born Afro-Puerto Rican, has been a consistent voice of change for the hip-hop generation.  Not only has she made headlines with her strong stances against racism and female explotation, but she also hasn’t been afraid to critique hip-hop’s leaders including Russell Simmons.

Here is a quote from a recent release:

I choose to do this, not for me, but for my generation, my community and my daughter. I don’t see the Green Party as an alternative; I see it as an imperative. I trust that my Vice Presidential run will inspire all people, but especially young people of color, to recognize that we have more then two choices. Together, we can build the future we’ve been wanting.”

However, some Greens question the move. There had been hope that McKinney would name Jesse Johnson, who is firmly in second place behind her in pledged delegates as a running mate.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

